Practical Intensive Training for Dental Assistants

Connect with us:

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram
    

North Carolina Coronal Polishing Class 7hr

Dental Assistant Training, LLC
336-907-4002

Education and Training Requirements : Tution $300
Student must be classified as a Dental Assistant II
Students must show proof of classes completed before they can take this coronal polishing
class. If you need a class to make you eligible to take this coronal polishing class please
contact handsondatnc@gmail.com
Classes need to be eligible:
CPR
3 hr sterilization/infection control
3 hr dental emergency course.
This course is designed to instruct the dental assistant II to accurately
polish the coronal surfaces of teeth as provided by the Dental Laws of
North Carolina.

Coronal Polishing Class 7hr tution $300
3 hours of didactic in 4 hours of clinical
Didactic Class : 3 hr
● Proper Operator and Patient Positioning
● Proper Polishing Technique
● Development of Initial Skills to Perform Selective Polishing
● Indications for Coronal Polishing
● Abrasive Agents
● Abrasive Action
● Grasp and Fulcrum Techniques

● Proper patient dental flossing
● Contraindications of Polishing
● Sterilization of Equipment
● Special Patient Needs
● Assessing Polishing Success-disclosing patient before and after to
assess

Clinical Session 4 hr
designed to instruct the Dental Assistant II to accurately polish coronal surfaces
of teeth. The students will participate in a clinical environment understand how to
use a hand piece
In order to register for the Coronal Tooth Polishing course, participants must be
working as a Dental Assistant II and be at least 18 years of age. The
requirements to be classified as a DA II are listed below For more information on
DA II status in NC, contact the NC Board of Dental Examiners
https://www.ncdentalboard.org/
Telephone: 919-678-8223 • Fax: (919) 678-8472
Email address: info@ncdentalboard.org

Dental Assistant II

In North Carolina, there are two classifications for Dental Assistants (DA I and
DA II). North Carolina does NOT certify assistants. Classification is based on
experience and/or training as listed below. It is up to the employer to verify an
assistant’s qualifications and determine if he/she is a DAI or DAII.

Education and Training Requirements
To be classified as a Dental Assistant II, an assistant shall meet one of the
following criteria:

(1) completion of:

(a) an ADA-accredited dental assisting program and current certification in CPR;
or

(b) one academic year or longer in an ADA-accredited dental hygiene program,
and current certification in CPR; or

(2) completion of the Dental Assistant certification examination(s) administered
by the Dental Assisting National Board and current certification in CPR; or

(3) completion of:
(a) a 3-hour course in sterilization and infection control;
(b) a 3-hour course in dental office emergencies; and
(c) current certification in CPR.
(d) after completing Sub-Items (3)(b), (c), and (d) of this Rule, dental assistants
may be trained in any dental delivery setting and allowed to perform the functions
of a Dental Assistant II under the direct control and supervision of a licensed
dentist, except as listed in Sub-Item 3(e) of this Rule.
(e) dental assistants may take radiographs after completing radiology training
consistent with G.S. 90-29(c)(12).
(f) full-time employment and experience as a chairside assistant for two years
(3,000 hours) of the preceding five, during which period the assistant may be
trained in any dental delivery setting and allowed to perform the functions of a
Dental Assistant II under the direct control and supervision of a licensed dentist.